Agricultural Hall of Fame 2022

May 18, 2022

Media Announcement 

May 12, 2022 

On Wednesday May 11, the Royal Agricultural Society of WA hosted the 2021 Agricultural Hall of Fame ceremony at David Buttfield House in the Claremont Showground.

Each year, RASWA welcomes new inductees into the Agricultural Hall of Fame, proudly sponsored by Wesfarmers, in celebration of outstanding contributions to the development and progress of Western Australian agriculture.

WA Governor, Hon Kim Beazley, Hall of Fame Inductee, Dr Graham Crosbie, Artist, Tatyana Soboleva , and RASWA President, David Thomas

Guests included WA Governor, the Honourable Kim Beazley, RASWA President, David Thomas, RASWA CEO, Robyn Sermon, Wesfarmers representative, Tahlie Citterbard, and Artist, Tayana Soboleva as well as many guests from across rural WA.

The Honourable Kim Beazley announced and warmly welcomed our 2021 Agricultural Hall of Fame inductee, Dr Graham Crosbie, with RASWA President David Thomas unveiling Dr Crosbie’s portrait, painted by artist, Tatyana Soboleva.

Dr Crosbie is a Pioneer of the Western Australian noodle wheat industry and the drviing force behind WA’s status as the major world supplier of specialist wheats for the Japanese and South Korean noodle wheat markets. His skills as a chemist defined the ideal wheat for high quality noodles which underpinned the development of distinctive varieties of udon noodle wheat in Western Australia. 
His work in defining the exacting traits of udon noodles as well as developing techniques to measure them, paved the way for breeders to develop new and specialised udon wheat varieties. Dr Crosbie went on to work closely with the Japanese flour milling industry and the Australian wheat industry, creating a unique and highly profitable wheat class.

“If you are in the Hall of Fame in WA, you are in the Hall of Fame of an industry of global, vital character. We should be so proud, because we are scientifically brilliant in this area. Congratulations to Dr Graham Crosbie, a true pioneer for Western Australian Agriculture”, Hon Kim Beazley said.

The Agricultural Hall of Fame was established in 1999 by the Royal Agricultural Society of Western Australia to commemorate the achievements of individuals who have made a significant contribution to the agricultural industry.

For more information, photos and past winners, please visit:

Hall of Fame Inductee, Dr Graham Crosbie

The Royal Agricultural Society of Western Australia would also like to express our thanks to Wesfarmers for their sponsorship of the Agricultural Hall of Fame initiative which allows us to recognise the outstanding contributions to Western Australian agriculture.

Agricultural Hall of Fame Event 2022